SPECIAL ISSUE

Samburu County Gazette Supplement No. 22 (Acts No. 8)



REPUBLIC OF KENYA

SAMBURU COUNTY GAZETTE SUPPLEMENT

ACTS, 2015

NAIROBI, 21st March, 2015

CONTENT

Act-

PAGE

The Samburu County Village Units Delineation Act, 2015

PRINTED AND PUBLISHED BY THE GOVERNMENT PRINTER, NAIROBI

THE SAMBURU COUNTY VILLAGE UNITS DELINEATION ACT, 2015

No. 8 of 2015

Date of Assent: 12th November, 2015 Date of Commencement: See Section 1

ARRANGEMENT OF SECTIONS

Section

PART I-PRELIMINARY

1-Short title and commencement.

2-Interpretation.

3-Object and purposes of Act.

PART II—ESTABLISHMENT AND ADMINISTRATION OF VILLAGE UNITS

4-Establishment of Village units.

5- Establishment of the office of the Village administrator.

6- Establishment of the Village Council.

PART III-MISCELLANOUS

7-Regulation.

8- Complementarity.

SCHEDULE — VILLAGE UNITS OF THE COUNTY OF SAMBURU

(

THE SAMBURU COUNTY VILLAGE UNITS DELINEATION ACT, 2015

AN ACT of the Samburu County Assembly to provide for the establishment and delineation of the village units in the county and for connected purposes

PART I-PRELIMINARY

Short title and commencement

1. This Act may be cited as the Samburu County Village Units Delineation Act, 2015, and shall come into operation upon the expiry of thirty days from the date of publication.

Interpretation

No. 8

No. 17 of 2012

No. 17 of 2012

2.In this Act, unless the context otherwise requires-

"Ward' means an electoral area within a county delimited in accordance with Article 89 of the Constitution and section 26 of the County Government Act, 2012;

"County Executive Committee Member" means the county executive committee member for the time being responsible for county coordination and administration of county functions.

"Village unit" means the decentralized unit of the County Government delimited in accordance with section 48 of the County Government Act. 2012.

Object and purposes of Act

- 3. The object and purpose of this Act is to-
- (a) provide for the delineation and establishment of the village units in Samburu County;
- (b) provide for the further decentralization of the functions; and
- (c) provide a framework for provision of services by the County Government in accordance with Article 176(2) of the Constitution

2015

Sambury County Village Units Delineation

No. 8

PART II-ESTABLISHMENT AND ADMINISTRATION OF VILLAGE UNITS

3

Establishment of Village Units

4. The Village units of the description specified in the sixth column of the Schedule which comprise the Ward specified in the first column of the Schedule shall comprise the Village units of Samburu county.

Establishment of the office of the Village Administrator

5. (1) There is established the office of village administrator for each village unit established in a county.

No. 17 of 2012

(2) A village administrator shall have professional qualifications and technical knowledge in administration and shall be appointed by the County Public Service Board in accordance with the provisions of the County Governments Act.

(3) A village administrator shall coordinate, manage and supervise the general administrative functions in the village including -

- (a) pursuant to paragraph 14 of Part II of the Fourth Schedule to the Constitution -
 - (i) ensuring and coordinating the participation of the village unit in governance; and
 - (ii) assisting the village unit to develop the administrative capacity for the effective exercise of the functions and powers and participation in governance at the local level; and

No. 17 of 2012

(b) the exercise of any functions and powers delegated by the County Public Service Board under Section 86 of the County Governments Act.

(4) In carrying out the functions and obligations in subsection (3), a village administrator shall be responsible to the relevant Ward administrator.

Village Council

6. (1) There is established, for each village unit, a village council comprising ---

- (a) the village administrator who shall be the chairperson of the village council; and
- (b) not less than three and not more than five village elders competitively appointed by the village administrator with the approval of the county assembly, taking into account gender balance.
- (2) A village council shall be responsible for ---
- (a) ensuring and coordinating the participation of the village unit in governance:
- (b) assisting the village unit to develop the administrative capacity for the effective exercise of the functions and powers and participation in governance at the local level;
- (c) monitoring the implementation of policies at the village unit;
- (d) advising the ward administrator and sub-county administrator on matters pertaining to the village; and
- (e) any other function necessary for the better administration of the village unit.

(3) A person shall be eligible for appointment as a village elder if the person -

- (a) is a citizen of Kenya;
- (b) has been a resident of or has been the owner of property in the respective village unit for a continuous period of not less than five years prior to the appointment date; and
- (c) is not disqualified for appointment to office by this Act or any other law

PART III—MISCELLANEOUS PROVISIONS

Regulations

No. 8

No. 17 of 2012

7. (1) The County Executive Committee Member may make Regulations for the better carrying out of this Act and such Regulations shall be approved by the County Assembly.

(2) Without prejudice to the generality of subsection (1), the Regulations shall provide for the boundaries of the Village units in line with the requirements of the Constitution, the County Governments Act. 2012 and this Act.

2015

Samburu County Village Units Delineation

No. 8

Provisions in the Act are complimentary

8. (1) The provisions of this Act shall be complimentary to the provisions of the County Governments Act in relation to the establishment and administration of the Village units within the County.

SCHEDULE (s. 4)

VILLAGE UNITS OF THE COUNTY OF SAMBURU

Ward Name	Constituency		Constituency		Village Units
	Name	Population	Population	in sq. km	
		SAN	MBURU WES	Т	
Maralal		36,755	88,933	341.9	 Lpartuk Maralal town Lkuroto Ngari Shabaa Milimani Ledero
Lodokej-ek		19,435		584.9	 Laurio Kirimon Garma Mugur Longaitolia Lmisigiyoi Mbaringon Lolokejek
Suguta Marmar		11,905		559.1	1. Amaiya 2. Longewan 3. Nasur 4. Logorate 5. Suguta marmar 6. Lolmolog
Poro		10,578		559.5	 Nauneri Mugur Seketet Siampu Lporokwai Sirata Nkeju-Emuny Lemisigiyo
Loosuk		10,240		490.8	1. Loosuk 2. Tinga 3. pura 4. malaso
		SAM	BURU NOR	TH	
El-Barta		11,856	78,607	457.3	1. Baragoi 2. Bendera

No. 8	Samburu County Village Units Delineation					
			3. Naling'ang'or 4. Ngilai 5. Masikita 6. Suyan 7. Marti			
Nyiro	17,051	1,598.4	 Lkayo Parkati Tuum Ejuk South-horr Loonjorin Losurkoi Simale Waso Rongai Lkotikal Nakwei 			
Ndoto	14.912	2,058.6				
Angata Nanyokie	9,747	569.6	1. Angata Nanyokie 2. Loibashi 3. Barsaloi 4. Lulu 5. Soit Naibor 6. Morijo			
Baawa/Opir oi	11,807	1,072.2				
Nachola	13,234	2,355.7	 Terter Kalele Lokorkor Moruakiring Nakupurat Nachola Lonyangaten 			
		BURU EAST				
Wamba West	14,963	9,094 1,555.5	1. Ltirimin 2. Lengei			

•

2015	Samburu County Village Units Delineation				
Wamba	16,970	1,754.8	 Lpus Sesia Resim Silango Nanyokie Nkutuk o ngiron Remote Lpus leluai Nkaroni Naisunyai Koiting 		
East		4	2. Wamba 3. Matakwani 4. Golgoltim 5. Lkisin 5. Lpashie		
Wamba North	11,522	2 3 4 5 6	. Ngilai central 2. Ngare Narok 3. Raraiti 4. Swari 5. Lmarrmaroi 5. Lorok onyokie		
Waso	15,909	2 3 4 5	. Archers 2. Sereolipi 3. Laresoro 4. Losesia 5. Ndonyo Wasin 5. Lerata		

7